Photo from the Darren Snow collection
111 W High St|
Jefferson City MO
|Record #11022 |
Opened: June 5, 1935|
Closed: May 15, 1970
Current Use: Parking Garage
Architect(s): Boller Bros
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
| Previously operated by: Dubinsky Brothers Theatres, Durwood Theatres|
Information for this tour was contributed by Darren Snow.
Opened on June 5, 1935, as part of the Dubinsky circuit, the Capitol was located right across the street from the Missouri Capitol building. It joined the Durwood chain in 1948 and closed on May 15, 1970. It was later converted rather hastily into a one-level parking garage; the sidelights and balcony were left intact and the seats were simply replaced by asphalt! Tattered bits of the red stage curtain remained hanging above the exit for the next 35 years, and storage shelves set high on the walls were made from old placards advertising golden-age movie-house events such as "Bank Night."
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
March 2005 photos from the Darren Snow collection.
91 KB · 625x417
55 KB · 625x430
February 2005 photos from the Darren Snow collection.
52 KB · 625x418
77 KB · 625x402
73 KB · 625x402
March 2002 photos from the Darren Snow collection.
66 KB · 625x448
58 KB · 454x625
61 KB · 625x449
76 KB · 625x454
33 KB · 446x625
53 KB · 625x450
1953 photos from the Darren Snow collection.
24 KB · 236x450
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2/25/2005. Last edited 5/7/2014.
Buy movie tickets, look up showtimes, watch trailers and more!