Welcome to CinemaTour!  Sign In

CinemaTour
 
Cinema History Around the World  
 HOME ·· CINEMAS ·· LINKS ·· BOOKS
 Contact Cinematour ·· Help & Hints ·· About Cinematour
 

Shubert Theatre


1913 Photo from the Clay Jarratt collection
W 10th St & Baltimore Ave
Kansas City MO

Demolished 1936
Record #10558  
 Opened: October 1, 1906
 Closed: Yes (date unknown)
 Demolished: 1936
Capacity: 1625 seats
Architect(s): Charles E Fox Jr
Architectural Style(s):
National Register:
Current Organ: none
 Also Known As: Sam S Shubert

Information for this tour was contributed by Kansas City Public Library.

"Interior View of Shubert, Kansas City, Mo." pictures seating for 1,625 patrons of Kansas City's legitimate theater, with a seating capacity of 700 on the main floor, 450 on the balcony and 415 in the gallery. The Shubert was located just west of 10th and Baltimore, with an entrance on 10th. (The site is familiar toady as the First National Bank parking lot.)

"Every seat in the house will be reserved, and only upholstered chairs will be used, being arranged with the comfort and safety of the public in view, the spacing and width of aisles being given special consideration by the architects," reported The Kansas City Star Sept. 15, 1905, when the Shubert was being built.

"The first floor will be depressed from an inclined entrance from which the patrons may walk into both the galleries and balcony without climbing a stairway, the main floor being considerably below the entrance level. Decorations will be by Tiffany and other appointments will be of an equally high order. Charles E. Fox Jr., member of the widely known theater architectural firm of Chicago, who designed the Nixon Theater of Pittsburg, perhaps the finest playhouse from all viewpoints in the United States, and after which the Shuberts' Theater will be planned, is in Kansas City preparing details as to the actual construction of the building, which will be known as the Samuel S. Shubert Theater, in honor of a member of the Shubert family who died last May from injuries received in a railroad accident."

Balconies and ceiling were supported by steel beams, which made supporting pillars unnecessary. Proscenium opening was 40 feet wide. Twenty dressing rooms in tiers were under the stage and there was a special dressing room for stars.

The theater opened in the fall of 1906. The post card was published in color by Hall Brothers several years after the opening of the theater.

Kansas City Times
May 19, 1978


 Postcards
 Images remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.

1913 postcards from the Clay Jarratt collection.


94 KB 625x389
---

Postcards from the Kansas City Public Library collection.


28 KB 389x244

 External Links

---
---

Return to the top of this page   or   Return to the main page


Last featured 3/8/2005. Last edited 9/6/2014.

 
Fandango
Buy movie tickets, look up showtimes, watch trailers and more!

The content of this website is a research work in progress and is being provided to the public for informational purposes only. As such, articles may contain errors, bias, duplication, or need to be cleaned up. Some documents, images and logos contained in these documents belong to various organizations and corporations. Their inclusion here is for the benefit of the reader and for the benefit of the particular organization, but they are, in fact, the copyrighted property of those organizations. Their presence here does not imply any endorsement of CinemaTour by those organizations. CinemaTour is not affiliated with any cinema or circuit.

© 1995-2014 Vision Entertainment Services. All rights reserved.
Use of this site signifies agreement to terms of service.