Photo from the Darren Snow collection
1662 Washington St|
|Record #10074 |
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Ouatoga|
Information for this tour was contributed by Darren Snow.
OPENED: April 1913. CLOSED: 1945.
The 9/6/98 Alton Telegraph ran an undated photo (from the Kerr collection) of the Ouatoga, which was at the time running "His Squaw." It also advertised "See yourself as others see you on the moving picture screen." There was no mention of the later name change, though the theatre is clearly the same one identified as the Gem in a picture found elsewhere. The Gem -- the name was changed between 1921 and 1924 -- was run in 1924 by Frank R. Davis, who also owned a piano company bearing his name. Irwin Davis managed the Gem in 1928-29. In 1930-31, the Alton directory noted that the managers were Margaret L. and Frances E. Davis. Joseph Desberger was the honcho from 1933-36, followed by Joseph Goldfarb from 1937-44. The space was occupied by Agra Sales Co. in 1946-47, listed as vacant in '48, and filled by the Ernst Clothes Shop from 1950-52. United Mens Shops used the building from 1952 to 1972; then it became a "head shop" and then a Chinese restaurant.
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 1/1/2006.