Tottenham Court Road & Grafton Stree|
West End (London) UK
|Record #5587 |
Demolished: Yes (date unknown)
Capacity: 2568 seats|
Architect(s): Frank Verity; Sam Beverly
Architectural Style(s): Art Deco
Current Organ: Compton
| Also Known As: Odeon Tottenham Court Road|
Information for this tour was contributed by Ken Roe.
Built by Paramount Pictures, this was their third West End cinema (after the Plaza and Carlton) and it was the largest. It was also the third largest cinema in the West End, only the Empire and Dominion had a greater seating capacity. It was purchased by Odeon in 1942 and re-named in 1946.
The first British installation of Cinemascope was demonstrated here in 1953 and in 1958 it began a 6 month run of 'Windjammer' when the giant-screen process Cinemiracle was installed.
After closing in 1960, it was demolished and the site became a 'temporary' car park, utilising the lower sections of the auditorium walls as a boundary. Only in the summer of 2004 has construction of an extension to a nearby hospital begun to be built on the site.
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 12/10/2005.