2004 Photo from the Ken Roe collection
12 Dalston Ln|
Dalston (London) UK
|Record #5576 |
Capacity: 2260 seats|
Architect(s): Wylson & Long; Robert Cromie
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Dalston Circus, Dalston Theatre of Varieties, Picture House|
Information for this tour was contributed by Ken Roe.
Originally opened as a circus in 1886, the small front entrance on Dalston Lane still existing today is original to this date. In 1897, the auditorium was rebuilt to the designs of theatre architects Wylson & Long as a variety theatre seating 3,516. In 1920, the interior was redesigned by Robert Cromie into the Dalston Picture House for Biocolour Pictures Ltd. This circuit was taken over by Gaumont in 1927 and the cinema was renamed Gaumont in 1951. It closed in 1960 and the front foyer became a nightclub, the auditorium first became a warehouse, then a car auction room and lastly another nightclub. It has all closed up since 2000 when plans were put forward to demolish the building and build a multi-screen cinema on the site. As of June 2004, the building remains derelict as shown in the photos.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
June 2004 photos from the Ken Roe collection.
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 7/5/2004.
Buy movie tickets, look up showtimes, watch trailers and more!