2004 Photo from the Ken Roe collection
55 Pitfield St|
Hoxton (London) UK
|Record #5571 |
Capacity: 866 seats|
Architect(s): Lovegrove & Papworth
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
Information for this tour was contributed by Ken Roe.
The Cinema (it never was known by any other name) was an early casualty of the downturn in cinema-going due to the arrival of television. It was operated by the Gaumont chain from 1928 until its closure. After laying empty for four years it was used as a meat storage facility until 2001. In May 2004 plans were announced to re-open the building as a community cinema, possibly to split into several screens.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
June 2004 photos from the Ken Roe collection.
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 7/5/2004.