2003 Photo from the Ken Roe collection
191 Portobello Rd|
Notting Hill (London) UK
|Record #5566 |
Capacity: 98 seats|
Architect(s): Gerald Seymour Valentin
Architectural Style(s): Edwardian Baroque
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Imperial Playhouse|
Information for this tour was contributed by Ken Roe.
Opened on 24th February 1910 this was an early purpose built cinema and rare survivor today as it still operates showing movies in a beautifully restored single screen operation. Current seating is for 98 in well spaced luxurious leather armchairs.
However it wasn't always like it is today. It opened as the Electric Cinema Theatre and became the Imperial Playhouse cinema in 1932, an independent local cinema to the rather run down Portobello Road market area of Notting Hill, North Kensington. In the late 1960's it became the Electric Cinema Club, screening Avant Garde movies and had become a total flea pit, still retaining the emergency gas lighting. After several closures and openings it now caters to a more discerning moviegoer who is willing to pay a little more than usual to see current movies in luxury.
One claim to fame is that local resident and mass murderer John Christie of nearby 10 Rillington Place once worked here as a projectionist in the late 1940's.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
May 2004 photos from the Ken Roe collection.
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 7/3/2004.