|Record #4729 |
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
In 1911, local entrepreneur and filmmaker Ernest Symonds converted the 1865 Beverley Corn Exchange for use as a public cinema. The theater is a listed building and has remained, for the most part, unchanged over the years. The cinema showed films constantly since its opening, until 2002, when competition from a nearby multiplex forced it to cut back its film schedule and beef up its concert and live performance schedule.
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 12/10/2005.