2003 Photo from the Ken Roe collection
West End (London) UK
|Record #3749 |
Capacity: 1159 seats|
Architect(s): Frank Verity; Sam Beverly
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Carlton, Cannon, MGM|
Information for this tour was contributed by Ken Roe.
Built as a duel use cinema/theatre by Paramount Pictures it was to be a smaller 'sister' theatre to their nearby Plaza (CinemaTour Record # 3737) by the same architects. It opened with a live stage production "Lady Luck" in 1927, which ran for a year. In 1928 a four month long Premier presentation of the silent epic "Wings" was screened which was followed by further live shows, but in 1929 the theatre was wired for sound and it has remained a cinema ever since. Paramount Pictures ran the Carlton until 1954 when 20th Century Fox took over operation as their main West End premier outlet installing 'CinemaScope'. Fox pulled out of the building in 1977 and it went dark and there were plans to bring it back into use as a live theatre again. But after being refused 'Listed' building consent the stage house was demolished and an office block was erected at the back of the building. Classic Cinemas took over operation in 1979 and re-opened re-opened it as a 3 Screen Classic Cinema, which became Cannon and is currently operated by UGC. Some decorative plasterwork from the original auditorium is still visible in Screen 1 located in the former balcony. The small mezzanine circle was removed in the conversion to 3 screens.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
December 2003 photos from the Ken Roe collection.
December 2003 photos from the Klaus Weber collection.
90 KB · 625x469
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 7/3/2004.