Photo from the Ken Roe collection
Victoria (London) UK
|Record #3742 |
Capacity: 603 seats|
Architect(s): J Stanley Beard
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Saint James Picture Theatre|
Information for this tour was contributed by Ken Roe.
Originally built in 1766 as a chapel, it was converted into a cinema in 1923 but only lasted in this use until 1931 due to the larger cinemas being constructed in the Victoria area at that time. It was converted into a live theatre, known as the Westminster Theatre and many popular plays were produced over the years. In 1965 the entire outer facade of the building was covered in Welsh slate, which gave it a 'modern' appearance. In later years the theatre became used less often due to its off the beaten track location and it finally closed in 2001. In the late summer of 2004 it was demolished despite efforts to get it Listed as an historic building. An office block is planned for the site which will have a 'performance space' in the basement.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
Photos from the Ken Roe collection.
78 KB · 625x430
90 KB · 625x436
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 1/28/2006.