52 High Road|
East Finchley (London) UK
|Record #3736 |
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
Information for this tour was contributed by Stephen Furley.
This theater opened in 1910, was modernised, and the auditorium turned round with the screen now in a more conventional position at the far end from the entrance in 1938. Some rather fine fibrous plaster decoration was also added at this time.
In the early 1970s further changes were made, the rake of the auditorium was increased to improve the sightlines, and the foyer enlarged. After various changes of ownership the cinema came close to demolition, but was taken over by a trust, which continues to operate it.
About two years ago the cinema closed for further work, to the foyer area, improved disabled access was provided, and there were other changes, including new ladies toilets, strangely, the gentlemen's facilities are still as they were. A Dolby Stereo sound system was installed not long before this closure.
After this work was completed the cinema re-opened at Easter 2002, and continues to operate as a successful independant art house venue, with 35mm and 16mm film projection, and occasional live music events. They are at present raising funds to re-seat the auditorium.
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 12/10/2005.
Buy movie tickets, look up showtimes, watch trailers and more!