2004 Photo from the Ken Roe collection
West End (London) UK
|Record #3729 |
Capacity: 600 seats|
Architect(s): Andrew Mather; Leslie C Norton
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Capitol, Gaumont Haymarket|
Information for this tour was contributed by Ken Roe.
The building that contained the former Capitol (later Gaumont Haymarket) was gutted after the closure of the Gaumont in 1959. The new Odeon Haymarket opened in the basement of the building. It was always considered an 'up-market' cinema and specialised in screening classy 'intelligent' films. Since closing the interior has been totally gutted and the space is empty awaiting future tenants.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
October 2004 photos from the Ken Roe collection.
104 KB · 469x625
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 1/28/2006.