Jacey Leicester Square
2004 Photo from the Ken Roe collection
West End (London) UK
|Record #3714 |
Current Use: Restaurant
Capacity: 350 seats|
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Monseigneur News Theatre|
Information for this tour was contributed by Ken Roe.
The Monseigneur News Theatre was created in the space of the ground floor lobby of the 1897 built, Queens Hotel which is adjacent to the Empire Theatre, Leicester Square. It became the Jacey Cartoon Theatre from 1960, but quickly went over to screening 'adult' sex movies until closure in 1978 when it was converted into a shopping arcade. The entire interior of the building was gutted in 1983 and a new interior was built within the walls of the former Queens Hotel. The cinema entrance was the central doorway, now an entrance to Starbucks Coffee House.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
October 2004 photos from the Ken Roe collection.
106 KB · 469x625
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 1/28/2006.