2003 Photo from the Ken Roe collection
268 Tottenham Court Rd|
West End (London) UK
|Record #3700 |
Capacity: 2835 seats|
Architect(s): William & TR Milburn
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
Information for this tour was contributed by Ken Roe.
Built on the site of the much smaller (420 seat) Court Cinema (1911-1928), the Dominion Theatre's foyer alone occupies that site. The Dominion was designed as a 'live' theatre, but projection facilities were also included. Maurice Chevalier starred in the secnd production at the theatre, but in 1930 it was hired out by Universal Pictures for the British Premier of the silent Lon Chaney version of Phantom of the Opera. This was followed by Chaplin's City Lights. Further live shows were presented, but in 1932, it became a full time cinema. Live presentations began again in 1957 when Judy Garland appeared for four weeks in her own show. After that, the theatre was equipped with Todd AO/70mm, the 477 seat upper circle was walled off and converted into offices, and it became a long run roadshow house playing hits like South Pacific (4 years), Porgy and Bess (1 year), Cleopatra (2 years) and The Sound of Music (3 years). After a short run of Star, the theatre resumed as a normal release theatre with occasional live shows until it was closed in 1984. A bitter battle was fought against planned demolition until Apollo Leisure, and later the Nederlander Organisation, took control of the building and restored and converted it back into a live theatre. Recent hits have been Disney's "Beauty and the Beast". Current seating is for 1,654.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
April 2004 photos from the Ken Roe collection.
December 2003 photos from the Klaus Weber collection.
84 KB · 469x625
103 KB · 625x469
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 7/3/2004.