2003 Photo from the Ken Roe collection
157 Charing Cross Rd|
West End (London) UK
|Record #3685 |
Capacity: 1650 seats|
Architect(s): Edward A Stone
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
Information for this tour was contributed by Ken Roe.
The Astoria was an elaborate conversion of a former pickle factory. The projection booth was located beneath the circle. A Compton theatre organ was originally installed and in the basement below the auditorium there was a ballroom. The theatre was a long run roadshow house from 1957 and held the world premier of "The Fall of the Roman Empire" in 1964 and it was equipped to screen 70mm film. In its later years of operation as a cinema, it screened second run and first run mediocre films. It then converted to live theatre use, where several musical shows were produced. But this only lasted a couple of years and the building is currently a rock music venue and nightclub in the former main auditorium and another smaller rock venue operates in the former basement ballroom. The theatre has been scheduled for demolition when work starts on the new 'Crosslink' underground rail link.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
December 2003 photos from the Ken Roe collection.
39 KB · 338x450
93 KB · 450x338
December 2003 photos from the Klaus Weber collection.
83 KB · 625x469
74 KB · 469x625
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 12/10/2005.