2002 Photo from the Ken Roe collection
26-28 New Kent Rd|
Elephant and Castle (London) UK
|Record #2740 |
Capacity: 2315 seats|
Architect(s): Frank Matcham; William R Glen
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Elephant and Castle, ABC, Cannon|
Information for this tour was contributed by Ken Roe.
Originally a live theatre which opened in 1879, architect Frank Matcham, it was converted into a cinema in 1928 and re-modelled internally into an art deco movie house by William R. Glen in 1932. It closed as a full time cinema in 2001 and after 2 years laying empty it has been restored into a multi-entertainment venue, opening in summer 2003.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
August 2002 photos from the Ken Roe collection.
37 KB · 450x338
38 KB · 450x338
42 KB · 338x450
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 12/10/2005.