Information for this tour was contributed by Gordon McLeod & Allan Barnes.
The Capitol Theatre opened in 1908 as the Gem, showing silent films in a previously constructed building. The name was changed to Princess in 1917 during the war and talkies arrived in 1930 with a new sound system. A wider screen was installed in 1954.
2008 photos from the Allan P Barnes collection.
Photos from the Gordon McLeod collection.
The content of this website is a research work in progress and is being provided to the public for informational purposes only. As such, articles may contain errors, bias, duplication, or need to be cleaned up. Some documents, images and logos contained in these documents belong to various organizations and corporations. Their inclusion here is for the benefit of the reader and for the benefit of the particular organization, but they are, in fact, the copyrighted property of those organizations. Their presence here does not imply any endorsement of CinemaTour by those organizations. CinemaTour is not affiliated with any cinema or circuit.
© 1995-2017 Vision Entertainment Services. All rights reserved.