1979 Photo from the Ron Keillor collection
764 Yonge St|
Toronto ON M4Y 2B6
|Record #211 |
Opened: September 20, 1920|
Closed: September 14, 2003
Capacity: 1900 seats|
Architect(s): Thomas W Lamb; Sprachman & Giller
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Loews Uptown|
| Previously operated by: Famous Players Theatres|
The Loews Uptown was actually carved into five auditoriums. The Uptown 3 consisted of the former balcony (Uptown 1) and the orchestra section which was divided down the middle (Uptown 2 & 3). The former stage area became a separate cinema entirely with its own entrance on a side street (Backstage 2).
All that remains today is the lobby building.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
December 2003 photos from the Toronto Star collection.
32 KB · 385x450
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 12/8/2014.