2004 Photo from the Ken Roe collection
39-47 Saint Paul Street|
(02) 9399 5722
|Record #407 |
Capacity: 980 seats|
Architect(s): AM Bolot
Architectural Style(s): Art Deco
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
Information for this tour was contributed by Ken Roe.
Originally operated as an independent cinema by Macroy Theatres (Randwick) Ltd, it was taken over by Hoyts in 1954 who installed CinemaScope and did some re-modelling. Hoyts closed the cinema in 1962 and it was purchased by the Sisters of Brigidine Congregation who leased it to several cinema operators over a few years.
It was purchased by the current owners in 1984 and it was proposed to demolish the building. A Heritage Commission Enquiry was held in 1985 and the cinema was kept open after a long fight and conservation order was implemented in 1993. In 1995, three additional screens were proposed to be built on land adjacent to the original cinema, but this was initially opposed by Hoyts who operated a nearby multiplex at Pagewood (East Gardens) Shopping Centre. The application was approved in July 1996 and the 3 additional screens opened in July 1997.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
February 2004 photos from the Ken Roe collection.
70 KB · 625x469
72 KB · 625x469
77 KB · 625x469
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 1/14/2006. Last edited 1/14/2006.