2004 Photo from the Ken Roe collection
49 Canterbury Road|
|Record #404 |
Closed: Yes (date unknown)
Capacity: 2500 seats|
Architect(s): Kaberry & Chard
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Majestic, Oreon|
Information for this tour was contributed by Ken Roe.
Built in 1920 on the site of the 1912 Queens Theatre, the Majestic Theatre opened as a cinema in July 1921. It was taken over in 1946 by Greater Union Cinemas and re-named Odeon. The interior was re-modelled in 1953 and seating reduced to 1,602. In 1964 foreign films were shown under a new management and it was re-named Oreon Cinema. This closed in the early 1970's and after laying empty for several years it was converted into the Majestic Roller Skating Rink in 1979 and this use continued until around 2003. Since then the building remains closed as at 2004. It was registered on the List of Important Buildings by the National Trust in 1989.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
February 2004 photos from the Ken Roe collection.
95 KB · 625x469
76 KB · 469x625
70 KB · 625x469
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 1/14/2006. Last edited 1/14/2006.