2004 Photo from the Ken Roe collection
26 Orwell Street|
Kings Cross NSW
|Record #392 |
Current Use: Broadcast Studio
Capacity: 1006 seats|
Architect(s): C. Bruce Dellit, Guy Crick; Bruce Furse, Dudley Ward
Architectural Style(s): Streamline Moderne
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Minerva|
Information for this tour was contributed by Ken Roe.
Opened as the Minerva Theatre (a live theatre), facilities were provided for cinema use, and within months of opening it showed occasional films. It was sold to MGM in 1948 and live show use continued until 1950 when it became a full time cinema, re-named Metro in 1952. After closing in 1969 it reverted back to live show use until final closure came in 1979. It was converted into a food fare store, with alterations approved by the National Trust. In 1981 the Kennedy-Miller Organisation took over the building and converted it into a Film and TV recording studio.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
February 2004 photos from the Ken Roe collection.
68 KB · 469x625
79 KB · 469x625
77 KB · 625x469
60 KB · 469x625
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 1/14/2006. Last edited 1/14/2006.
Buy movie tickets, look up showtimes, watch trailers and more!