2004 Photo from the Ken Roe collection
55-57 Parramatta Road|
|Record #389 |
Capacity: 1652 seats|
Architect(s): Charles Bohringer
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Homebush Cinema, Hoyts Vogue|
Information for this tour was contributed by Ken Roe.
Opened on the 24th April 1925 as the Homebush Cinema, it was renovated by architect L.J. Buckland in 1939 and re-opened on the 19th August 1939 as the Vogue. Taken over by Hoyts in 1944, it was closed on the 19th December 1959.
It was converted into an ice rink which closed in 1980. In 1986 it was converted into the Nightrider Theatre Restaurant and later became a reception centre which closed in 1996. Since then the building has become derelict, with most of the original architectural detail stripped out.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
February 2004 photos from the Ken Roe collection.
79 KB · 625x469
80 KB · 625x469
82 KB · 625x469
73 KB · 625x469
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 1/14/2006. Last edited 1/14/2006.
Buy movie tickets, look up showtimes, watch trailers and more!