Saint George's Theatre
2004 Photo from the Ken Roe collection
34 Birmingham Street|
|Record #379 |
Capacity: 910 seats|
Architect(s): Craven, Brown & Marqua
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: St George's Hall, Picture Palace|
Information for this tour was contributed by Ken Roe & Nick Gadd.
Opened in 1891 on the corner of Birmingham St and Murray St, as the St George's Hall the original architects were Craven, Brown and Marquand. Theatre use was only until 1905 when the licence was cancelled and the building became a meeting hall. Film use started in 1910 and in 1913 a new addition was built to face onto Birmingham St and it began use as a full time cinema, until closure in 1958. Since 1960 it has been used as the UDC Ballroom (Universal Dancing Classes) but this seems to have closed when viewed in March 2004.
In 2008, the auditorium was demolished leaving only the facade. Apartments are being built on the site.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
March 2004 photos from the Ken Roe collection.
80 KB · 625x469
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 1/7/2006. Last edited 7/20/2008.