2004 Photo from the Ken Roe collection
167 Collins Street|
|Record #365 |
Current Use: Retail
Capacity: 1479 seats|
Architect(s): Charles Neville Hollinshed
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Taiits Auditorium, Metro|
Information for this tour was contributed by Ken Roe.
Operated by MGM from 1934 as their first main theatre in Melbourne when it was known as the Metro. MGM vacated the building in 1971 and it was taken over by Greater Union Cinemas for a while before becoming and independent movie theatre known as the Mayfair.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
March 2004 photos from the Ken Roe collection.
128 KB · 469x625
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 1/7/2006. Last edited 1/7/2006.