2004 Photo from the Ken Roe collection
|Record #333 |
Capacity: 2773 seats|
Architect(s): John Eberson; Henry White
Architectural Style(s): Atmospheric
Current Organ: Wurlitzer
| Also Known As: Hippodrome|
Information for this tour was contributed by Ken Roe.
Originally built as Belmore Market in 1891 (architect George McRea) it was converted into the 1,846 seat Hippodrome in 1916 by architect R.H. Brodrick. This use as a circus was not a great success and in 1927 plans were drawn up by Greater Union Cinemas to convert it into an 'atmospheric' styled movie palace. The Capitol Theatre as it is known and looks today, opened on 7th April 1928 with an Italian garden setting in the auditorium, designed by American architect John Eberson (uncredited in the opening programme).
After closing as a full time cinema in 1971 it was used as a concert venue for several years until it closed and plans were put forward to demolish it. This didn't happen and the building just sat empty for over 10 years until it was purchased by Sydney City Council and work began in 1992 on a full restoration project. A new stage house and dressing room block was built and now the Capitol has been one of Sydney's major live theatre venues since re-opening in January 1995.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
February 2004 photos from the Ken Roe collection.
82 KB · 469x625
105 KB · 469x625
95 KB · 625x469
102 KB · 625x469
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 1/16/2006.