441 Toorak Road|
|Record #326 |
Capacity: 1382 seats|
Architect(s): Charles Hollingshed
Architectural Style(s): Art Deco
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
Information for this tour was contributed by Ken Roe.
After closing in 1958 the theatre was purchased by the National Theatre Movement and plans were submitted to convert the former cinema into a live theatre and opera house. Everything went ahead, but during conversion work in 1963, the building was destroyed by fire. The remains were demolished and the new Trak Centre was built on the site which included a small 550 seat cinema in the basement which was named Trak.
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 10/31/2004.