2004 Photo from the Ken Roe collection
3A Oxford St|
|Record #311 |
Closed: June 26, 2010
Capacity: 800 seats|
Architectural Style(s): Edwardian Baroque
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Olympia, West's Olympia, Odeon, Mandala|
| Previously operated by: Palace Cinemas|
Information for this tour was contributed by Ken Roe.
Built and opened as the 2,500 seat Olympia in 1911, it came under Union Cinemas control in 1920. Although strictly just within the boundary of Paddington, it has always had the Darlinghurst district 'tag' on the end of its title. Modernised in the 1930s with a new proscenium, decorations and light fittings it was again renovated and re-named Odeon Darlinghurst in 1953. Closed as the Odeon in 1960 it stood empty until it re-opened as the Mandala Cinema, home of 'Cult & Rock' films. This closed in 1972 and it was converted into Sydney's first twin cinema located on the ground floor level. The screens have a seating capacity of 500 and 300. The remainder of the building, which has been totally gutted of its original decoration, has been converted into a restaurant/nightclub operation.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
February 2004 photos from the Ken Roe collection.
83 KB · 625x469
74 KB · 625x469
72 KB · 625x469
66 KB · 625x469
73 KB · 625x469
66 KB · 625x469
86 KB · 625x469
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 6/27/2010.
Buy movie tickets, look up showtimes, watch trailers and more!